While working on a budget, things change, various decisions are made, and edits are done. After many changes, you may want to recall some figures and calculations, or even completely revert back to a previous version. Don't worry, we’ve got you covered! Sage Intacct Planning (SIP) gives you different ways to save and view previous versions and even revert back when necessary.
All the saved versions are listed in Inputs > History.
Versions can be saved as different types:
Auto-save: SIP automatically saves your versions every few minutes so you don’t have to worry about saving them manually.
Snapshot: At any point in time, you can manually save your budget as a snapshot, and then use it to compare with your working budget.
Base budget: You can save any of your auto-save versions or snapshots as a base budget. This is a starting point on which to build your budget.
Forecasts: You can use a combination of budget and actuals data to help create financial forecasts and update your company’s budget throughout the budget year. For further details, see Getting started with forecasts.
To change the version type of a saved budget:
Click the dropdown from the line of the version you want to change.
Select the new version type and click Done.
To view previous versions of your budget:
From the Inputs tab, click History. All the previously saved versions of your budget are displayed. You can see the date and time in which the saved version occurred.
To view a previous version, click the arrow in the row of the version that you want to view. The page updates with a view-only preview of the budget.
A green label over the budget tree indicates which version you are viewing.
In the budget tree, blue-colored lines indicate the lines that had changes made to them since this version was saved.
To see details about what was changed, click a blue budget line name and click on See changes in current version.
3. To close the preview, click the x in the green label over the budget tree.
To revert a budget to a previous version:
Preview the version you want to revert to, as explained in To view previous versions of your budget. A green label over the budget tree indicates which version you are viewing.
Click on the vertical ellipsis near the version name and click Revert.
📝 From this menu, you can also delete this version, or save it as a snapshot.
3. Confirm that you want to revert. Once you revert:
All the data from your working budget is replaced by the data in the version you chose to revert to.
A snapshot of the working budget is saved in the History list and called Snapshot before revert.
4. Click Revert. The screen refreshes and the version you selected to be your working budget is loaded.
📝 When you revert, your working budget and scenarios are automatically replaced by the selected version. The current share settings of your working budget, however, remain the same. For more information, see Revert a shared budget.
Revert a shared budget
Sharing a budget is a great way to collaborate with other users. For more details about sharing, see the Share a budget article.
If you share your entire budget or parts of your budget, it is important to understand that when you revert to a previous version, your current share settings do not revert. That is, the most recent share settings of your working budget apply to the previous version of the budget that you revert to.
If you share your entire budget, or parts of it, with another user and then revert to a version of the budget before these share permissions were granted, the user has the same share permissions for the reverted version.
If you revoke permissions from a user and then revert to a version in which the user had permissions, the user can no longer access the reverted budget.
If you delete a shared budget group and then revert to a previous version of the budget before the deletion, the share permissions no longer exist. Therefore, you need to share the restored budget group again.